Craving Gnocchi

This week I decided to try a new restaurant I never been to before, Ciao Amore Ristorante in Pilsen. This neighborhood is just west of Halsted Street and is home to this old fashioned authentic Italian restaurant. I came across the restaurant while googling B.Y.O.B. restaurants and I was not disappointed. Strangely enough, Ciao Amore reminded me of a small Chinese restaurant from the outside but once I walked inside, I knew I was about to sit down to a delicious Italian meal. The lights were dim and all the tables were covered in clean white table cloths. The ambiance was romantic as old Italian music played quietly as background noise (which reminded me of having dinner at my Grandpa Gabe’s house as a little girl).

Ciao Amore claims, “We are a B.Y.O.B. restaurant, so you bring your favorite wine or beverage…. And we will take care of the rest.” You will quickly learn that that statement couldn’t be truer. The server immediately invites you to sit down so they can set the table with glasses for the drinks you brought. (Wait, what was that? You didn’t read Chicago Crave so you didn’t know this restaurant was B.Y.O.B.?! No worries, there is a liquor store right across the street). CLINK! Right after you make a toast with your friends at the table about how thankful you are that Chicago Crave told you about the liquor store, you will open the menu and try to decide what to order. Immediately you will notice that all the food choices are in Italian, which can seem overwhelming at first, until you notice the descriptions of each dish printed in English.

My table ordered the Calamari Fritti and Bruschetta Della Casa for our appetizers. (Fair warning, bring some Tic Tacs because every food from this point on will leave your breath smelling like garlic). The calamari was lightly breaded and perfectly crispy but the spicy marinara dipping sauce was the best part. All the tomatoes used in the bruschetta were fresh and the garlic baguette it was served on had nice crunch. Even though you’ve probably licked the appetizer plates clean, make sure you save room for your entrée because Antonio’s Gnocchi Ripieno Bolognese will be completely worth it. Growing up in an Italian household, I have high expectations for gnocchi because they have to be up to par with my mom’s recipe and I must say, Ciao Amore’s take on this dish was completely satisfying. It was a perfect serving of small soft dumplings stuffed with creamy ricotta cheese. Topped with Bolognese sauce, this is a plate I would for sure call authentically Italian.

At this point, you are completely full and can’t even think about stuffing one more bite of food in your mouth but who are you kidding, you’re sticking around for a scoop of creamy spumoni ice cream.

Everything about this dining experience was enjoyable and delicious however, there is one thing about my Ciao Amore Ristorante experience that was pretty aggravating, the parking! I recommend taking a cab or uber to this restaurant because the parking lot available is so tiny and narrow that it will take you 15 minutes to get your car in or out of there. But let’s be real, you’ll be taking limitless trips to the liquor store for a bottle of cabernet so taking a cab is a good call.

IMG_0856 (1)IMG_0857IMG_0859IMG_0861IMG_0862FullSizeRender (1)

3 thoughts on “Craving Gnocchi

  1. I loved this post. All the descriptions really put the reader into the restaurant with you. I loved the humor too; it all sounded very clever. I didn’t know was gnocchi was, but how you described it definitely made me want to try it! Describing your entire experience from the moment you got there really helped me picture the environment and make me believe you had a great experience at the restaurant. Everything sounded delicious! Good job!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This place sounds exactly like what I love! I’m also from a very Italian family, so I can relate when you talk about the music bringing you back to your childhood with your grandpa. Gnocchi is also my favorite pasta, but I can never find a dish I’m in love with here in the suburbs. I definitely need to pay this place a visit soon!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment