Craving Biscuits and Gravy

Since today is my 22nd birthday I decided to break the rules a little bit and to treat myself to one of my favorite restaurants to enjoy a southern style breakfast. By breaking the rules I mean reviewing a restaurant that isn’t exactly in a Southside neighborhood. White Palace Grill is located on the corner of Roosevelt and Canal in the South Loop but hey, it’s my birthday so the rules can be bent a little. And besides, this review will be totally worth it.

If you’re a Food Network addict like me, this place might sound familiar to you. Yep that’s right, White Palace was featured on an episode of Diners, Drive- Ins & Dives! If you’re a Food Network novice, this is a show about all the places to eat comfort home- style, classic gourmet, and fast foods all across America. The host, Guy Fieri, said “The key to any successful dining establishment is it’s history, because that is what sets it apart from the rest of the pack as it can survive and thrive through the years. This 70 year old diner is one of the best of the best!” White Palace is a small restaurant that is always busy. Inside there is a long counter with tall silver stools for patrons to sit at along with tons of old diner style booths. No matter what time of day you come, there will always be at least a ten minute wait before you are seated but trust me, it is worth the wait.

Normally when I dine here I always order chicken and waffles because this pairing seems to get more delicious every time I order it but this time since I was celebrating my birthday, I decided to try something new, the Southern Chicken Biscuit Platter. Biscuits and Gravy is definitely a favorite breakfast dish of mine but this platter turns this traditional dish up a notch. Once you find the “Biscuits & Gravy” section on the extensive menu your eyes will immediately go toward the Southern Chicken Biscuit Platter because the description will make your mouth water. These biscuits are sliced in half and topped with country- fried chicken, American cheese and then smothered in gravy.

I was impatient waiting for this plate to come to my table because I was so curious about how big this meal was going to be. And my assumptions were correct; this is definitely a meal I recommend sharing with someone. Each biscuit was soft and flaky which paired perfectly with the crunchy bite of chicken. The gravy ties both of them together into a tasty bite that makes you want to go in for another bite until this plate is gone. I enjoyed this with a big glass of orange juice and was completely stuffed and satisfied.

I only have one critique about this restaurant and that is it is incredibly difficult to find available street parking.

Overall, this is a great place to enjoy a diner style meal with friends. Happy birthday to me!

2 thoughts on “Craving Biscuits and Gravy

  1. This looks so yummy! I love biscuits and gravy. This was a cool post because you actually went to a place that was reviewed on Food Network. And it’s true, a place with history has amazing food. It’s a recognizable place, and your review of how delicious this was makes me really crave biscuits and gravy. Good job!

    Like

    1. THIS POST IS KILLING ME! Honestly, biscuits and gravy is my FAVORITE! It’s so hard to find a good plate of it here though. I spent my summers in West Virginia as a kid and the biscuits and gravy were always perfect. This dish looks so similar to what I remember as a kid! I have to go try this out…especially since it was on Triple D! Love that show so much!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment